Don’s Last Dance (Tribute to Don de Guerre)

Cédric Jamet
Percolab droplets
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2017

For the last decades, Don de Guerre has been a mentor for hundreds of students and aspiring contributors to the change community in Montreal, Canada and the World. His ideal of a more democratic, open, caring society, his relentless faith in human beings, and his commitment to building a better world and becoming a better person have inspired and moved people. I am one of these people. On May the 26th, 2017, Don gave to his students and friends his “last lecture”, as he is leaving Concordia University. It was an opportunity for him to share his views of the world, the future and the work that needs to be done. As a token of appreciation for a man who has contributed a lot to my thinking, while he was giving his lecture I harvested the words and images that flowed in the room. What follows is what I read to him in the aftermath, to thank him for the wisdom and the joy he so generously shared with us over the years.

How do I act my dreams?

What will the last dance say?

The last dance will be the first dance

An organism

Attract, reject

An open dance

My last dance is a first dance

My last dance is a story

Of what will be

In the world of the future

Of getting to work and

Touch each other

And usher each other

Into the now

My last dance wears a pair of glasses

To see the world

Intentionality and

Urgency

Are the lenses

Through which I can see

And act

In the world

My last dance holds a book

That thanks me for being late

When everybody

When everything

Gets faster

My last dance

Is a global dance

Where the future of the dance

is dancing artificial

And dancing smart

My last dance is a final dance

Is a first dance with the earth

And with the 9 billion people

That will breathe on it

To build the life we need

To support Life

My last dance is a dance with wars

And with the walls that will not stop them

My last dance does not have time

To sit around

While I enjoy my privilege

My last dance is one where I learn with the world

To act wisely

And build community

And learn to become

A better ancestor

And a better human

My last dance is a first dance

A dance with ecosystems

With values

To move together, at last

And do good work

Let’s do good

work

And trust each other that we can do it

My last dance is a dance

Where the whole is in the parts

And the parts are in the whole

And I am dancing with gentle action

And fast failures

That may help us survive

And search for depth and meaning

My last dance is our dance

Creating a loving, caring community

And do it more

And do it better

And our last dance

Is improvised

With you

With me

With we

With yes

With appreciation

With love

With grace

With you

With us

With the world

With life

With what there is

With what may be

With what is uncertain

With creativity

With the the other

And in our last dance

We got this

Together

We got this

My last dance

Is my first dance

Is our first dance

And I am here with my friends

I am your friend

--

--

Cédric Jamet
Percolab droplets

Social innovation and haikus. Father of 2 mermaids. From the river. Circles and upward spirals. How do we work, live and learn together?