Coaching On Empty

You can never give from an empty cup

Call Florence
Performance Course
3 min readJan 25, 2023

--

As a coach, have you ever told your athletes to “empty the tank?”

I myself have told my athletes to “empty the tank” a thousand times. On the last rep of conditioning you yell out “empty the tank” to try to get every ounce out of your athletes.

How many times as a coach have you told yourself, “I need to fill up my tank?”

Coaches are known for burning the candle at both ends. They are often praised for it. A good coach is often defined as someone who is selfless and someone who puts others needs before their own. At what point do a coach’s needs become their priority?

As many times as we might tell our athletes to “empty the tank” we often also tell our athletes to “fuel their tank” with proper nutrition, mobility, and sleep. We all know that the only way we can “empty the tank” is if we “fill the tank” back up. Then why as coaches do we ever take the time to fill our tank back up?

A lot of times we as coaches think that filling our tank up is selfish or soft. Don’t get me wrong, coaching isn’t for the faint of heart and if you want to be a great coach it is going to take a lot of work and long days. At the end of the day if we’re coaching on empty, we are a disservice to our athletes.

The first step as coaches is that we have to be aware of when we are nearing empty. The second step is that we have to have the ability to step back. This can take shape in many forms such as turning off the phone, spending time with family, or reassessing where you are in your own personal life. The third step is to get back to work. Once you’ve become aware and stepped back, go to back to what you love doing with a full tank.

Three F’s:

The “Three F’s” are what I use to help me fill my tank back up.

Faith

My faith is why I became a coach in the first place. God put coaches in my life that shaped and molded me into the young man I am today. I believe God has also given me a purpose to influence young men and women for the greater good. Whenever I become aware of my tank nearing empty, I remember my purpose and tell myself that I need to be at my best to fulfill my purpose.

Family

Family is what we all go back to when the day is over. One day when we are done with this great profession our family will still be there. Our family knows us better than we know ourselves sometimes. After I become aware of my tank emptying, I take a step back. I listen to my family’s words and instructions, and I also just disconnect from the coaching profession and spend time with family.

Fellowship

Fellowship is one of the best things the coaching profession brings to the table. We meet some of our best friends through the coaching profession. I find it hard to admit, but one of the hardest things for myself to do is to tell one of my coaching buddies or coworkers that I am feeling burnt out with coaching. I believe all great coaches have to have some level of ego and pride, and sometimes that ego and pride gets in the way of asking for help.

One of the best things that I have done in my coaching career is asking my coaching buddies/coworkers for help. I realized two things, it’s ok to have the feeling of being burnt out and I wasn’t the only coach that has had the feeling of being burnt out.

No matter young or old, in this profession you will feel your tank being empty. Just like we tell our athletes, “we all face adversity, but we all respond differently.”

Coaches have the opportunity to respond in a way that is an example to the athletes we coach. Remember, you can never give from an empty cup.

--

--