The Five Things Athletes Want From Their Coaches

From little league baseball to the highest levels, athletes seem to want the same things from their coaches and leaders

Tyler Floyd
Performance Course
4 min readNov 22, 2021

--

I recently reflected on where I’m at in my career and why I’m here. I grew up playing sports, but I don’t think anyone that knew me as a kid would call me an “athlete.” Yet somehow I spent a decade coaching football at a very high level and now am a full-time strength and conditioning coach.

What became clear to me in this reflection was that no one cares about WHAT you’ve done or accomplished in the past. All they care about is WHO you are now.

I never had a student ask to see my teaching certificate. I never had an athlete ask to see my highlight film or stats (good thing because those don’t exist). And I’ve yet to have an athlete ask to see my CSCS.

But there is one question I remember vividly.

While working with a baseball team in 2016, I had the same kid ask the same question every morning:

“Coach, are you excited?!”

It’s when I realized that no one I ever work with will probably care about my coaching resume or credentials.

It’s not that certifications and education aren’t important. It is absolutely necessary that you are capable of doing your job well. However, what I am saying is that your athletes don’t really care about them.

I think if your athletes could speak candidly to you, here’s what they would want to say:

“Believe In Me”

Your athletes’ belief in themselves stems from your belief in them. If you push them like they are capable of anything, they’ll start to believe that. I got to listen to Kaz Kazadi speak at a clinic once and he said, “You can never coach a kid above what he thinks he is.” Your kids want to be treated like you believe that the sky’s the limit. Then soon enough, they’ll actually believe that, too. You can throw around as many big words as you want from your Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning textbook, but none will have a bigger impact than “I believe in you!”

“Be Positive”

Asking a kid to get up early or stay late and give everything he or she has in the weight room is hard. Some call it a “grind.” We’re beating their bodies down on a daily basis. We don’t have to beat their spirit down as well. So bring positive energy! You don’t have to be a cheerleader to be positive. Kids can’t thrive in a negative environment. They want an atmosphere that screams hard work is fun!

“Be Consistent”

People love to say “fake it ’til you make it.” Your athletes see straight through that. As a coach, I want my kids to be the same person day in and day out. They want the same thing out of me. I don’t think that your athletes care how smart you are. They just want you to be you! They don’t want a coach that tries to be someone they’re not. They want a coach that believes in who they are and what they are doing and will be that person every day. At the same time, they want a coach that will embody what they teach. Brett Bartholomew said it best:

“Your athletes are more likely to follow your example than they are your advice. Don’t preach commitment to them if you don’t embody it.”

“Lead Me”

Your athletes have plenty of friends. They don’t need another one. They want someone that will lead them with conviction. Sometimes that means confrontation is going to happen.

I equate it to my experience with my own son. I love my boy to death. I’ve set the expectation that he shouldn’t run into the street, but at two years old, he will inevitably try. In that moment, I can’t be his buddy. I can’t gently redirect him. I’ve got to do whatever it takes to keep him out of the street because it’s dangerous.

That’s what it takes to lead. Love your athletes enough to put the call to leadership above your desire to be liked. When you see your athletes heading down a path to destruction, lead them. By any means. Whatever it takes to make sure they receive the message; do it. They appreciate it. I promise you.

“Give Me Your Best Effort”

Your athletes want everything you have. More than that, athletes deserve everything that you have. Every day. They don’t want a coach in the corner with a coffee in their hand. They don’t want a coach that rolls in at 6:59 for a 7:00 workout. As coaches we’ve got to demand our athletes give everything they have. They want the same in return. There can’t be a “I’ve paid my dues” mentality. That currency doesn’t exist in the mind of your kids. They want you to invest in them and that investment has to happen at every moment.

So, pursue continuing education and meaningful certifications: those are good goals!

Just understand this: If you’re more concerned about adding letters to the end of your signature line than you are about adding value to the lives of your athletes, don’t be surprised when you have a hard time coaching.

Those kids that you have the opportunity to be around every day don’t care how smart you are.

If they do, that’s fine.

I’ll be the moron that believes in them. I’ll be the idiot that is positive, consistent and has the guts to lead. They can think I don’t know anything, but they’ll know I’m always going to give them everything I’ve got!

--

--