A Thought Essay on Womanhood, Empowerment, and Ending Period Stigma.

Emily Swanigan
PERIOD
Published in
6 min readMar 21, 2022

Submitted on behalf of Her Place and several menstrual equity activists and wellness influencers.

From Ariana Simone, model:

“My favorite part of being a woman is being a shape-shifter, body bender, and adapter. I am a woman that can shift into different roles and still be comfortable. I can be masculine and I can be sexy or I can be overly empathetic and caring. Part of my self-discovery is finding confidence in my versatile personalities and being comfortable in showing others that I am an unstoppable badass.

The first time I got my period, I had just woken up in the morning. I was sleeping over with my younger sister when she was just a toddler. I felt confused, wet, and terrified of what I saw when I pulled my underwear down. It was so scary as I started to cry and call for my mother. She was shocked as well, but put that emotion aside as she handed me a pad of hers while running off to the drug store. I got in the shower and tried to stay there for as long as possible until my mother came back. For the whole day I was pretty quiet and uncomfortable. I felt lazy, lethargic, and lost.

Now as an adult, I see the importance of menstrual equity — which means free period products for everyone. This goes beyond just pads and tampons, but also includes “luxury” period products like menstrual cups and period panties so that all those with a period can feel more comfortable and supported during menstruation. There is not enough discourse around menstruation that accurately portrays one’s thoughts, behaviors, and physical or emotional feelings. Feeling supported with proper period products can be so beneficial. As creative social campaigns have become so prevalent in media, generating thousands of dollars for brands and those who participate, it’s equally important to use these campaigns to raise awareness of the inequity that people with periods face all over the world.”

From Londyn Harris-Elzein, 18 year old model, herbalist, and student:

“Having conversations about menstrual equity are more than just important, they’re necessary. Since little to no emphasis is placed on discussing menstruation outside of a demeaning and sneering context, having mature and constructive dialogues helps to raise the collective’s awareness about this issue. I believe we can change the stigma around menstruation through better sex education in school and through social education to generate action and belief. Embody the ideas and values you want to see echoed in those around you.

We further create awareness by continuing discussions on the topic, uplifting one another, and dissecting why these issues exist through acknowledging the intersection of identities in relation to various forms of oppression. And as for providing women with basic necessities, this should begin with forming and fostering a relationship with the women we aim to serve. This requires being able to listen, learn, and implement.

The first time I got my period, I was in 7th grade and at a male friend’s house who had two male parents. I remember running to the guest bathroom panicked since I had no menstrual supplies on me, then I checked the cabinet to find it fully stocked with pads, tampons, and menstrual cups! I was so surprised but extremely grateful, and told my friend about that experience about a year later. To this day, that experience sticks with me as his dads were (and still are) so considerate.

Now, my favorite part of being a woman is being able to embody and witness the divine feminine through creating, observing, or reflecting the cycles of nature. To me, self-discovery means an unveiling of truth and the removal of judgment. It means surrender, forgiveness and renewal.”

From Naushin Khan, 21 year old Bengali-American model and multi-disciplinary artist:

“When I recall my first period, I remember it being a bitter moment. I remember feeling like I was no longer a child and now had to fit into society’s views of a woman. I had to rapidly grow up, because my body had declared it was time to do so. There would subsequently be no more fun, playdates, parks, toys or things alike. It took me almost a decade to realize that periods do not mean you suddenly fit into the societal standards of a woman, or that you have to sacrifice your inner child. Now, I see my period as something much more meaningful, something that I find power in. I try to embrace my inner child every day, now.

In 2014, I remember taking a trip to my hometown in Bangladesh. I was much younger than I am now, but I had already gotten my first period. I recall seeing a younger girl working in other people’s homes as a maid, cook, or caregiver. She was no older than 10 years, and it broke my heart to watch her use textiles that she had found in the street as a makeshift sanitary pad. She took care of others who had significantly more than her, while struggling to take care of herself. Since this moment, menstrual equity has been something I’ve cared deeply about and share often with others. In that same spirit, I’ve grown to recognize the vitality of menstrual hygiene. Without the proper tools, access, and education, the lack of menstrual hygiene can be fatal to a woman. It leaves women in developing countries vulnerable to sexual harassment as many young girls are also prevented from attending school due to their period. Not only that, women all over the world are susceptible to terminal infections if not taken care of properly during their menstruation cycle.

The conversation about period poverty needs to be brought up in artistic circles, political circles, and everything in between. Once it becomes a regular conversation, people will become more compelled to become involved. Consider donating to nonprofits related to the cause, or try buying menstrual products for homeless shelters or places near you that accept them. To continue changing the stigma around menstruation, we have to prioritize proper education. Everyone should learn all aspects of menstruation cycles in their health or sex education classes in a straightforward way for all gender-identities to learn. Once it can be normalized in a classroom, it will certainly lead to better discussions outside of schools.”

From Joyce Lee, founder of Her Place:

“I got my first period when I was 14 and I shared the news with my mom right away. She was very happy for me and we celebrated me becoming a woman over a cake with my family on the same day. It was a beautiful introduction to womanhood.

As I’ve grown, I’ve come to believe that we change the stigma surrounding menstruation by improving education and talking about this natural bodily process as often as possible in our health conversations without any shame. It’s our privilege as women and an important health indicator. For example, hiding tampons or pads and whispering about periods will only continue the stigma about menstruation.

It’s additionally necessary to have conversations around menstrual equity because it’s simply essential for every woman, girl, and person who menstruates to have basic necessities; no matter your social, economic background, class, race, ethnicity or age! It’s devastating and unthinkable to imagine anyone feeling ashamed of their period — preventing them from doing daily things and hurting their health due to lack of accessibility. All women have probably experienced panic when dealing with unexpected menstruation, and I can’t imagine going through that worry and fear every month. I believe menstruation is a superpower of women that should be protected, celebrated and effortless.”

--

--