I Am ‘Inferior’ for Wanting Menstrual Equity

Laila Abed
PERIOD
Published in
5 min readJul 31, 2024
With Women Kisoboka

Introduction

Three years ago, I dedicated myself to the menstrual movement, advocating for awareness and change. However, I have always focused on our progress and rarely shared some of the hard truths of my involvement.

Now, I see how my experiences changed me. Menstrual equity is not just a women’s issue; it’s a human rights issue. Despite this, advocating for it has made me feel ‘inferior’ in the eyes of many. Here’s why this fight is crucial.

“It’s that ‘time of the month!” I’ve often heard this phrase when on my period. Rarely have I been asked: “How are you feeling?” or “How can I support you?” Language matters, and it has the potential to trivialize a significant biological process, reducing it to a mere inconvenience and ignoring its broader implications.

Menstruation is often hidden behind a veil of stigma and silence. In my experience, many menstruators simply learn that they have a “period,” and the conversation stops there. We aren’t taught that understanding our menstrual cycle is essential to understanding our bodies and how to care for ourselves. My mother prepared me for my first period. However, my school education, particularly during my younger years, skipped lessons on the reproductive system and the menstrual cycle. This education gap helps explain why my community never had these conversations.

I recall one day during fifth grade when the girls at my school received a form to be signed by our parents, allowing us to attend a discussion about periods. My mother signed the form, and I sat in the classroom with a speaker who asked if we had ever had a period. It was a brief conversation, and we left with a small hygiene starter kit but were instructed to keep the pads to ourselves — that’s where the conversation ended. As a menstruator and an advocate, I started to push for such topics, often seen as exclusive to women and irrelevant to men, to be more widely understood.

Discovering PERIOD.

When I learned about PERIOD. on RoundPier, I was shocked. How could I have not given a thought to period poverty and stigma before? Why did I not know the prevalence of this issue? And why had I never heard of organizations addressing menstrual inequities? I experienced cramps, exhaustion, anger, sadness, unexpected period stains, and a lack of “period knowledge.” I realized I was privileged to have running water, proper waste management, products at my disposal, and the grace to take a break when I was at an all-time energy low.

Understanding Menstruation and Stigma Through the Eyes of a Muslim Woman

A person who menstruates will experience approximately 450 periods, which amounts to about 2,500 days, or nearly seven years. Although I have not reached this significant number, I have grappled with the societal implications of menstruation, particularly within my community in Sacramento, California. Here, menstruation is often shrouded in cultural silence, creating barriers that can prevent young women from seeking higher education or assuming leadership roles. When I founded the first Sacramento chapter of PERIOD Inc. in 2021 to help eradicate period poverty and stigma in my community, I was told that through my advocacy, others would view girls as inferior and that I was a bit “too outspoken.” I was asked questions like, “It’s a women’s issue; why should men care?” and encountered situations where I was told I should not discuss menstruation because it was inappropriate for a Muslim woman.

At the start of my chapter’s establishment, some supported me, and others laughed at my cause. In truth, I think people believed my goals were “cute” but would not last. It is often harder for women to be taken seriously. I will never take for granted how my Arab immigrant father would drive me anywhere and everywhere to make menstrual product deliveries. He understood the importance of my efforts and did not hesitate to tell those at his workplace about it. I am grateful for my chapter members, who had faith in our work and always showed up for packing parties, deliveries, fundraisers, workshops, and team meetings so that we could succeed.

At times, I thought about quitting. Would people understand my goal and the reasons behind my advocacy? Would they see beyond their cultural misconceptions and recognize that fighting for menstrual equity also means fighting for our Muslim sisters as well as homeless communities, education, the environment, and the economy? Menstrual equity is both a health and human rights issue. I spoke about how women were not receiving proper care and facilities to manage their periods, which left them vulnerable to missing school, becoming homeless, contracting diseases, or being forced into child marriages. I focused on one thing: menstrual equity can save lives.

Discussing my goals in front of male faculty or students was a particular challenge for me. It was difficult because menstruation was considered a taboo subject, and I often felt that my words were dismissed or frowned upon due to the nature of the topic. However, as a Muslim, I realized it was and is my duty to take action against injustice when I witness it and to speak out if I am unable to intervene directly. Menstrual inequities epitomized that injustice for me.

Overcoming Challenges and Achievements

Despite the challenges I faced, I pushed forward, aiming to dismantle the myths surrounding menstruation. Period poverty poses a significant barrier in urban settings, leading to missed educational opportunities and increased social isolation. In Sacramento, these challenges are exacerbated among the homeless population, the ninth largest in the United States. Costly menstrual products, their rare availability in schools, and deep-seated stigmas around menstruation discourage many homeless individuals and students from engaging fully in public life.

If I had not overcome the fears of being humiliated in front of others for fighting for menstrual equity, our PERIOD. chapter would never have been able to address these issues through advocacy and action. To date, we have led partnerships with 20 organizations, distributed over 24,000 menstrual products, and advocated for the passage of the California Menstrual Equity for All Act and AB 1287, benefiting millions of Californians. Our team has presented at educational seminars, universities, and schools. We installed a pad dispenser in the restroom of my high school, funded and equipped Ugandan women to jumpstart tailoring cooperatives to sew and sell cloth pads, and provided training on gender-based violence, reproductive health, and reusable pad making. For our chapter’s efforts, we received $3,000 from the IB Global Youth Action Fund to supply hygiene kits to refugees in Sacramento. Recently, I was awarded funds from a passion pitch competition by sharing my personal story about starting my PERIOD. chapter. Standing on stage in front of a crowd, finally being heard, brought me to tears. My fifth-grade self would be proud.

Call to Action

Collective action is the key to furthering this cause. Changing the narrative involves educating both menstruators and non-menstruators about the importance of menstrual equity. We can support the fight for menstrual equity by donating products, lobbying for improved policies, and engaging in informed dialogue.

My journey has taught me that advancing menstrual equity requires perseverance despite resistance and discouragement. It calls for a shift in how we discuss and handle menstruation in public spaces, prioritizing a society where menstruators can navigate their urban lives with dignity and without hindrance.

--

--

Laila Abed
PERIOD
Writer for

Writer for The Rag. Urbanist and ethnographer committed to sustainable planning. Exploring how maps and community can build equitable and resilient cities.