I’m a California teen, and no one taught me about periods.

Sexual Education classes didn’t prepare me for menstruation. Students deserve to know about their bodies.

Sriya Srinivasan
PERIOD
4 min readMay 20, 2024

--

When I was 12 years old, I lost my period for three years and had no idea why. When I looked into why I may have lost my period, I fell into a rabbit hole full of misinformation. Different websites told me it could be anything from a tumor to diabetes, or a thyroid disorder, and I had no idea which sources to trust. I even convinced myself I had ovarian cancer.

Overwhelmed and terrified, I swore never to tell my family because I didn’t want to scare them too. It wasn’t until I sought medical help for a running injury that I was hit with the facts: I was missing my period because I had an eating disorder. Over time, I got the health care I needed to recover, but I wish I had understood earlier what was happening with my body and the support that was available to me.

Even with the general sex education I received on health class in 5th, 7th and 9th grade, I hadn’t fully learned what a period was, how to manage and regulate one, and particularly , how to notice irregularities and when or how to seek medical care. That’s why I’m fighting for new legislation that will help young people across the state understand and navigate their period.

Too many people feel confusion, shame or pain when they get their period or when their period changes. I’ve heard from dozens of my peers who wish they had more comprehensive menstrual education in school. Research confirms that more than one-third of Americans report they were not taught enough about menstruation in school. Over three-quarters of teenagers even say they learn more in school about the anatomy of a frog than the anatomy of a menstruating body. Young people deserve better than this disappointing status quo.

The lack of mandated menstrual education means many students miss out on understanding the basics, from healthy methods to managing cramps to recognizing disorders and accessing hygiene products. Stigma and a lack of education not only jeopardize students’ physical and mental well-being, but their academic performance. Four out of five menstruating teens have either missed class time or know someone who has, because they don’t have the resources they need to navigate their period. Even when students are in class, worrying about menstruation can also prevent students from focusing on lessons, or lead to punitive discipline if they’re late to a class after a restroom break or skip participating in gym because of shame or discomfort.

The average age young people begin puberty and get their first period is starting earlier and research even suggests that this changes raises new health concerns, such as mental health challenges. Now more than ever, menstrual education needs to prepare young people to make healthy choices for their bodies for years to come.

California lawmakers have already shown that they understand the importance of comprehsive health education. In 2016, they passed the California Healthy Youth Act, to support sexual health education and HIV prevention education. This act, however, notably leaves out menstrual education. Now, the Know Your Period Campaign is calling on lawmakers to update the act to teach students age-appropriate facts about the menstrual cycle, premenstrual syndrome and pain management, menstrual hygiene, menstrual disorders or irregularities, menopause, stigma and more. Developed for and by students, with the support of sex education experts from Advocates for Youth, this measure will give young people the tools we need to understand our bodies, our development and how to plan for the future.

Our representatives have the chance to make history by enshrining these fundamental education standards. If California lawmakers pass this first-of-its-kind legislation, we can set a blueprint for other states. At a time when there’s so much misinformation about menstrual and reproductive health care, it’s more crucial than ever that schools help students understand their bodies so they can make healthy choices. It’s one of those few opportunities for both voters and lawmakers to rise above political shenanigans and swiftly adopt a common-sense policy that makes a tangible difference for young people.

My classmates and I are grateful that Assemblymember Lori Wilson has already voiced support for our initiative, but as the bill approaches its first hearing we have to make sure our representatives hear from their constituents about the critical need for menstrual education. Whether you are a parent who wants the best education for your kid, a student yourself or simply someone who remembers how hard it can be to be a teenager, you can send your representative a letter to support our movement for safe and healthy periods.

My period should never have been a mystery to me, and I never should have suffered in silence because of misinformation and shame. If we work together to adopt the Know Your Period curriculum, we can provide a source of relief and empowerment for thousands of students across the state.

Sriya Srinivasan is a high school student from Solano County and a member of YWOC, a program for women and nonbinary leaders of color with Advocates for Youth.

--

--