Living with Endo: Ivy’s Story

Ask Me About Periods
PERIOD
Published in
5 min readOct 1, 2018

Ivy Campbell (@ivyjcampbell) is an artist, activist, and former Policy Director at PERIOD. This is her story:

Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

“Just take some Tylenol.”

A statement burned into my mind. I have heard this at least a hundred times, from numerous different physicians at various facilities. I can’t even begin to count the amount of times I have read it online.

But what do you do when mild painkillers are not actually enough to kill the pain? Why is it that people can suffer with debilitating period pain for much of their lives and most resources only offer a streamlined, one-size-fits-all solution?

For me, it starts with nausea then quickly progresses into a deep burning sensation and shooting pains throughout my lower abdomen. My stomach knots, I break out into sweats, I become light headed. Within an hour I often find myself hunched over on the floor dry heaving from the pain, crying, exhausted- I’ve even been known to spike a fever and sometimes my legs go numb. My inability to escape it, no matter how much Tylenol I take, makes it terrifying. When my period comes I cannot just take a pill and carry on. If you cannot stand you cannot work. If you are dizzy you can’t drive yourself to get supplies. Those worries don’t even begin to tackle the embarrassment and judgment I have felt in not being able to function “normally” because of my menstrual pain. Bleeding every month can be a social, financial, and physical burden to all menstruators, but for some it disrupts their ability to operate in the world.

Although it is often ignored, many people suffer from debilitating period pain. Our periods are made harder when accompanied by shame and horrible misrepresentations of our bodies that leave many menstruators silenced and hopeless. This type of sexism results in an massive amount of undiagnosed illnesses and leads people to simply “cope” instead of finding solutions for their pain. I understand the endless stress that comes with trying to make doctors take you seriously and the strife that comes with finding different methods to help. It is not an easy process physically or emotionally.

I was one of those people who spent years afraid of my own body. I have even been told that the pain was all in my head. It wasn’t until I found an incredible healthcare provider who showed me the magic of a hormonal IUD. She listened, she cared, and she was pissed that it took this many years for someone to talk to me about endometriosis. The cramps still exist, but they are more manageable. As for my period, it hasn’t shown up in months! It took eight years and a lot of crying to find a healthcare provider and a solution, but even an IUD is temporary and not a permanent fix for how my body handles menstruation.

If I could send any message to people who are living with painful periods or just don’t feel like they are getting the support they need, do not settle until you find out what is going on. Talk about your period (to seek help and for the sake of revolution!). Find a new doctor who wants to listen, and do not let anyone minimize your pain. Your experience is real and deserves the time and attention it takes to help your find what your body needs.

My period has always felt like my enemy, but when the pain subsides I feel a sense of empowerment in my ability to conquer such torment. It is a reminder of how strong and capable my body is even when I feel like it’s trying to destroy me. I want all people with periods to feel empowered by the strength it takes to be a menstruator. Whether it is painful, unaffordable, confusing, or totally uneventful, your body is incredible and deserves respect.

What is Endometriosis?

We asked the docs…

Endometriosis may occur anywhere in the body, often affecting the area around the uterus and characterized by intense pain during menstruation. The uterus is an organ located in the pelvic area, shaped like an upside-down pear and about the same size as a pear. During normal menstruation, the uterine lining (also known as the endometrium) will thicken and shed.

Endometriosis is a condition in which the endometrial tissue grows outside of the uterus. The endometrial tissue still thickens and sheds each month; but if this tissue lies outside of the uterus, it has nowhere to exit the body. These build-ups of tissue outside of the uterus can cause inflammation that may lead to scar tissue and adhesions.

The symptoms of endometriosis are often brushed aside as merely “bad periods.” However, they should be taken seriously. The symptoms include: painful periods, painful intercourse, excessive bleeding, infertility, bloating, fatigue or nausea, especially during menstrual periods. The degree of pain may not be the best indicator of the severity of the disease, as women with acute endometriosis may have severe pain and those with severe endometriosis may have little to no pain. In any case, pain from endometriosis and even regular menstrual pain is treatable and is therefore a reason to talk to your healthcare provider about options.

It is important to remove the stigma around menstrual health and menstrual pain, to encourage menstruators to seek medical care for anything that interrupts their every day life and to be more aware of this natural bodily function.

Author: Vaishnavi Siripurapu, Freshman at UNC Chapel Hill
Reviewer: Dr. Namrata Mastey, MD, OB/GYN

The information provided here is intended as a generalized overview of period health and does not substitute for medical advice. The content of this article is part of a separate campaign called Ask Me About Periods. It is not a product of The Rag. To learn more about Ask Me About Periods, please visit www.period.org/chapters. If you have questions about Ask Me About Periods, please email nadya@period.org.

The comment function has been disabled for this article. Although we would like to be able to address each and every comment or concern, we unfortunately do not have the bandwidth to respond to comments in the rigorous and responsible way that would be necessary to adequately address concerns. If you are concerned about your health, please contact your healthcare provider.

Sources:

“Adenomyosis: MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia.” U.S National Library of Medicine. U.S. National Library of Medicine, n.d. Web. 05 Nov. 2015. <https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001513.htm>.

This source was used for background information but was not used to write the article

Healthline Editorial Team. “Uterus.” Pictures, Anatomy & Diagram. Healthline.com, 30 Mar. 2015. Web. 05 Nov. 2015. <http://www.healthline.com/human-body-maps/uterus>.

Mayo Clinic Staff. “Endometriosis.” The Mayo Clinic. N.p., 02 Apr. 2013. Web. 05 Nov. 2015. <http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/endometriosis/basics/symptoms/con-20013968>.

--

--

Ask Me About Periods
PERIOD
Writer for

AMAP is a health education campaign developed by PERIOD and women’s health biotech company, Myovant Sciences. To learn more, visit www.period.org/chapters