Eden Kagwiria Nyaga
PERIOD
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2018

--

PERIOD!
WHY IS IT SO HARD TO JUST SAY THAT?

Menstruation isn’t that hard of a word but hardly do I use it myself or hear it being used by menstruators who are at “that time of the month.”

See…there it goes again! Our constant deviation from using the word ‘menstruation’ or ‘period’; and opting for elusive concealing slangs.

When I first got my period, the very first thing I picked up were the Kenyan Swahili slangs for periods: ‘mashiro’, ‘wageni’- which translates to ‘visitors’ and the all famous phrase ‘ninanyesha’-translating to ‘I am raining’.

And the reason for using the slangs in my case; it was some sort of girl code; you know, something I’d use so that my male counterparts wouldn’t have any idea I was menstruating.

And what’s the deal with that anyway?
Why should such a normal process be so concealed?

I believe it’s about time we faced ‘aunt flow’ head-on.
Oops! Old habits!

I mean the shedding of my endometrium every 28 days; menstruation; my period. See it’s that easy…period!

--

--