What I Learned About Birth Control at My Women’s College

Logan Kramer
PERIOD
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2018

I can’t count the number of times someone has held up their arm, pointed near their bicep, and has cheerfully said “you can touch it!” in reference to their birth control implant. I’ve had friends and people I’ve just met gush about IUDs, tell me their NuvaRing is the best, and talk about how long they’ve been on the pill with zero hesitation.

When I went to college, I expected to encounter new situations. I knew I’d learn about topics which weren’t covered in high school classrooms. But what I hadn’t considered before going to college was that nearly everyone around me would be excited to talk about their birth control methods. I was part of more conversations about birth control within the first two weeks of college than in the eighteen years prior.

Birth control is a taboo topic in many spaces. There are many reasons people may choose a birth control method — menstrual regulation, dealing with PCOS or endometriosis, or simply wanting to have sex without getting pregnant. But neglecting to talk about birth control means people feel stigmatized if they want to learn about their options, and many people won’t know where to turn for accurate information. When college began, I was struck by just how little stigma there was. People were so willing to strike up conversations about their birth control methods over meals, walking across campus, and while studying. This open culture normalizes not only conversations about choosing a birth control method, but also birth control itself.

Recently a student posted in a Facebook group for students from my college, asking about people’s experiences with the implant and different types of IUDs. Within a couple days there were over 40 comments from other students offering their advice and sharing their personal experiences. I grinned while scrolling through the comments, realizing how willing my peers were to share what they’d learned. It felt empowering to know that I was surrounded by women who were advocating for themselves within the healthcare system and wanted to help others do the same. This wasn’t just about birth control- it was about being part of a community where we were willing to help one another make informed choices about our reproductive health and about other aspects of our lives.

I often forget that I attend a women’s college because it’s become a normal part of my day-to-day life. But in these moments of women supporting each other, I remember that I’m part of a powerful community. In a world where media surrounding birth control often spreads myths about contraceptives and suggests that easier access to birth control could “affect risky sexual behavior in a negative way”, it’s reassuring to know that there are people around me willing to have honest conversations about their own needs, who feel like they can walk into a doctor’s office already well-informed. It’s important to note that not everyone at my college menstruates or wants a “female” birth control option, and that medical professionals should be consulted by anyone interested in trying a new birth control option. I hope that people of all gender identities and sexual orientations will continue to be included in these on-campus conversations, and that these conversations will continue into “the real world” after college. But college is often a time to explore one’s identity, and I’m proud that my campus community includes open conversations about birth control as part of this exploration.

--

--