How Doing The Same Thing For 9 Hours Straight Ruined Me

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book
3 min readJun 8, 2024

24 hours in a day, 16 hours awake, 10 hours to be productive, I NEED TO BE PRODUCTIVE.

I’ve had to study, I’ve had to memorize scripts, I’ve had to do phone calls and I’ve had to do presentations. I used to think since I HAD 24 hours in a day that meant I HAD to use them correctly. Why? Fear of being inefficient which would result in me getting yelled at by a superior for being lazy. Sure sounds crazy when I say it out loud.

What I used to do

When I was training for the job I currently have, I wasn’t given an exact timeframe of when the work should be completed. The second it was all completed though, was when I moved on to the next step. For the training, it was estimated that I would complete it in 5 weeks. I USED to put as much time into the training as possible, and at the time I didn’t have anything else to do, so this would result in me working at this training for 9 hours a day. It was terribly inefficient.

I would THINK I was sooo productive but I was not. More often than not, past the fourth hour of learning, the information just wouldn’t stick in my head. Which was very frustrating, because I would end up taking longer to do the tasks since I was forgetting just as fast as I was learning. At the same time, I had no other hobbies besides watching content randomly, so I was becoming a very dull person. This also prevented me from growing as a person in other areas, because my time was always taken up. Didn’t neglect exercise though, I really would have been toast if I did. 💪💪💪

What I do now

Don’t get me wrong, I still believe in being a high performer and in the importance of doing your tasks efficiently. But now, I realize it’s unrealistic to do the same task for 9 hours straight while maintaining a high level of efficiency. This type of belief is why I don’t have a traditional 9–5 job.

Now what I do is give an estimation of how long a task would take. I want to complete 4 mock exams. To correct my mistakes, take notes on the information and properly digest it, which should take 4 hours. I will give myself 4 and a half hours to complete this task.

I will work on it no longer then that.

That’s my new method of doing activities. Now, I find that I am doing more work, I now have more time, and I feel like I am an actual human with likes and dislikes, not a walking soulless corpse.

This allows me to put time into my other ambitions, so if I have a bad time doing task A, there is a shot I can still get a win in task B, so I can still conquer the day! I am also filled with much less fear when doing task A because I know my whole life doesn’t revolve around it, because I still have tasks B, C, D, etc.

What I noticed about myself through this

I noticed I am someone who likes variety, in fact, I get energy from it. If I really wanted to, I could still be productive for 9 hours a day, it would just best be used in various places so I can maintain a higher quality of work in all tasks. And if I ever need to take a break, I can thank past me for being so efficient.

How do you work? Do you prefer variety like me? Or do you not mind working long hours on one specific task?

✨✨✨ Please make sure to ✨ ✨✨

👏Give 50 claps 👏

📖 Stay on the page for at least 30 seconds 📖

💬Comment your reflection of the article 💬

My writing is completely supported by readers like you

--

--

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book

Premium Ghostwriter. I write about psychology and personal development for young men. Message me here: https://www.linkedin.com/in/aaron-masse-899788291/