How I Mastered The Art Of Retaining Information

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book
2 min readJun 12, 2024
By Brock Wegner On Unsplash

There is plenty of information we learn mostly in school that ends up being discarded. On top of that, there is also data out there that tells us that people in the university are not even retaining half of the information they have spent so much time and money to get to learn.

Why is that? I’d say it’s because they aren’t using various methods of making sure the information sticks. I’ll share one method I use all the time in order to retain information with the hope of helping you guys.

My three-step process

The first method I use is a three-step process. It starts with me writing down the information, I document information on my computer using Trello. Let’s say it’s a standard fact I need to know for an exam. “The median cost for a will kit can range from $500 to $2000 in Ontario.”

The next step is to take action. How can I take action? I can discuss it in a conversation.

Hey Bob I just found out the average will kit can range from $500 to $2000 in Ontario isn’t that crazy?

We created 2 memories. One memory of writing down the fact and another of saying it to someone. The 3rd memory we need to create is reviewing that information, then either deleting it or putting it into an archived file. As you do that third step, envision yourself putting this fact in the back of your brain, only to be pulled out when the time is right.

The idea is to associate this fact with many memories, so it would be crazy if you forgot! There are definitely other methods you can do like taking a mock exam, etc. You can decide what’s right for you on your own.

✨✨✨ Please make sure to ✨ ✨✨

👏Give 50 claps 👏

📖 Stay on the page for at least 30 seconds 📖

💬Comment your reflection of the article 💬

My writing is completely supported by readers like you

--

--

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book

The Habit Ghostwriter | I ghostwrite educational email courses for behavior change professionals | Jung Junkie https://dailyjournalinghabit.com/