How I Memorized a 13-Page Script In Less Than A Month

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book
2 min readJun 12, 2024
By Aman Upadhyay On Unsplash

But it’s sooo boring

Memorizing a script on paper is a straightforward task to perform. You memorize one sentence at a time while taking time to review what you already memorized. You do this for an hour or two and bam you’ve memorized a page of your script.

When put into practice though, you will find it is either a very tedious to get started or B it is very boring. At least that was the problem for me.

How to get started

The reason why I never got started in the first place was because I would overthink the process. I’d imagine how “terrible” it would be to do the work. So how did I start? I did one very nice trick.

Telling yourself you’d just need to do one paragraph

It’s a similar strategy if you’re trying to go to the gym.

Just 5 minutes then I’ll leave.

Same with this.

Just read one paragraph then I’ll stop.

You will either not feel like stopping and you’ll do what you’re supposed to do, for memorizing a script it’ll typically be a page a day, or you will make some progress. Either way, it’s a win.

How to tough through the boredom

I tried some pretty weird stuff to get through the boredom of memorizing a script. I tried listening to music while saying the script. I tried playing chess but whenever I lost I would have to read a paragraph of the script. I even tried singing the script. Another one I tried was taking the first letter of every word and trying to figure out what the words were like it was a puzzle.

What ended up happening was I’d do these wacky methods for a couple of days, become more acquainted with the script, and then I would be ok with trying to memorize the script normally because now I’d feel like I knew it better. I’d suddenly have the ability to guess the word that comes next, and I feel like I was making progress.

Never give up

You only fail when you give up. If doing silly methods of memorization keep you trying and trying then you will eventually have the damn thing memorized.

For readers who have had success with memorization what tricks do you use? Do you also find it very boring or is that just me?

✨✨✨ Please make sure to ✨ ✨✨

👏Give 50 claps 👏

📖 Stay on the page for at least 30 seconds 📖

💬Comment your reflection on the article 💬

My writing is completely supported by readers like you

--

--

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book

The Habit Ghostwriter | I ghostwrite educational email courses for behavior change professionals | Jung Junkie https://dailyjournalinghabit.com/