Why Writing Doesn’t Feel Like A Chore For Me

Into the mind of someone who loves to write

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book
3 min readJun 13, 2024

--

By aaronburden On Unsplash

Writers block prevents me from writing more

I don’t have the energy to write

I get frustrated with my writing

I cannot relate to these quotes

This year was the first year where I dedicated every day to writing but prior to that I’ve felt I’ve always loved to write. This may sound weird but it doesn’t feel like I’m thinking when I’m writing. Is this because my writing isn’t super high quality so there is no need to think? For some things I write about I do have to do research, which does take energy as opposed to the articles I can do all in one sitting.

Half the time when I’m writing I haven’t even thought of how it’s going to end. Even as I’m writing this I’m not too sure how I’m going to articulate exactly why I am immune to writer's block or why I get a larger dopamine hit than I would while playing a video game. Have I just not written enough? I don’t believe that personally but time may say I’m wrong.

With every experience comes a new story

The hardest part is always getting started

The only part of the writing process that may take a bit of discipline in order to achieve is getting started. More often than not, after using tricks like,

Just write one article then you can be done with it.

Halfway through the article, is when I get the excitement. This excitement allows me to write more and more. It’s greater than the excitement I would get when me and the boys would win a ranked game of Rainbow Six Siege.

Why is this better than something that’s far more associated with entertainment?

It doesn’t feel like I’m thinking while I’m writing

I mentioned it earlier, but I say I don’t think when I write. I don’t mean that in a literal sense but it really does feel that way to me. In another article I wrote I talked about flow state, and how it can be accessed easier when you’re not thinking about yourself. This connection could be another reason writing doesn’t feel like a chore for me.

I set myself up for success by writing at the correct times.

Whenever I get the urge to write, that’s when I write. The urges come either from a thought or an interesting conversation I had. After overcoming the problem of getting started I’m good to go. The cycle goes, idea, getting started, success. Taking action the SECOND I feel the motivation is ideal.

A common misconception about writing

You do not need to have everything planned out to start writing. Like I mentioned before there are many times where I don’t even know what my third sentence will be until I cross that bridge. And I’m not slow with my ideas either,

More often than not, when I hear random excuses as to why someone doesn’t want to write, I just assume they don’t really have a passion for it. I’ve completely stopped trying to convert their opinion because I believe it’s a waste of time.

What other questions do you have?

I’m curious because I genuinely love to write and there are definitely topics that I haven’t covered because they haven’t been brought to my attention. I’d love to write more about this topic but I just want to make sure the information is actually helpful. What’s stopping you from taking action?

--

--

Aaron Masse
Journaling In An Open Book

The Habit Ghostwriter | I ghostwrite educational email courses for behavior change professionals | Jung Junkie https://dailyjournalinghabit.com/