Seems difficult? Let’s make it easy!

Nidhi D. Tyagi
Personal Excellence
3 min readMar 9, 2017

How many times it happens to us that we desire to do something but can not pick up a courage to do that because it seems difficult for us. Even when other people are doing the same task with no difficulties. What to do in this case?

Many of us just don’t do it saying that we can’t do it or it is not our cup of tea. But why to stop ourselves doing the things we like, why to let our belief hold us back. If that situation happens to me I solve it by preparing myself doing something more difficult so that the task seems easier to me.

“When things seem difficult, prepare yourself to do something more difficult and the thing will be easier by itself.”

I know you have not understood my point yet. Let me explain with an example,

Suppose you have to speak before 100 people and you really fear public speaking, but you don’t want to lose this opportunity to share your views before the crowd of 100 people. It seems difficult for you as how to prepare yourself for this challenge.

The solution I give here may seem crazy to many of us, but it really works. In this case, you should imagine that you have to speak before 1000 people but not only 100, I know you will feel more nervous, more fearful but still prepare your mind to face that challenge and rehearse accordingly. And magically the actual task will be easier for you. This happens when we stretch our mental horizon and force our mind to break preset beliefs and shift the boundary of our limitations to the next level and the previous level will naturally look earlier.

Still did not understand? No worries here is an interesting example to explain it in a better way,

We all play video games, there are levels in all the games, right?

Have you ever noticed? When we start playing a new game, even the first level of that game seems difficult to us and once we reach next level that previous level becomes easier by itself. If there are 10 levels in the game and once you manage to reach 10th or the final level, all the previous 9 levels become easier for you to cross, no matter how difficult they seemed to be when you had not crossed them. Seems familiar? Hope you can relate now.

This is just because of our beliefs which we have set in our mind for ourselves. And when the beliefs are broken things become easier. When we reach the next level the belief about crossing the previous level is broken in our mind hence making it easier for us to cross it next time we play the same level again.

I have experienced it in my life many times and in many cases, sharing the best one here,

When I wanted to start my career in training, there was a trainer who I looked up to and desired if I can get a chance to work with him, as he was already doing great in his field. But it seemed difficult for me to pick up a courage and call him if I can get a chance to work with him as I was a novice in that area. Then I prepared myself for a more difficult task and challenged myself to reach a level where he should call me and ask if I can work with him and it really happened. One day I received a call from him asking if I can work with him.

Here I just want to say that nothing Is difficult, it is our beliefs that make things difficult for us and once we are successful in breaking those beliefs and expand our mental horizon things become really easy.

Next time something seems difficult for you, try this and make it easier by preparing yourself for something more difficult. Keep moving, don’t let your own belief hold you back.

--

--

Nidhi D. Tyagi
Personal Excellence

Personal Brand and Social Media Strategist | Digital Influencer | Writer, Blogger, Speaker, Entrepreneur | Author — Evolve as a Brand