We Are Family! One Thousand Members Strong

Richard Reis
Personal Finance Series by Richard Reis
3 min readFeb 17, 2017
By Richard Reis

Hello dear,

This is just a short letter to say THANK YOU!!!

This financial series started as a New Year’s resolution to teach you everything I learned about personal finance from early retirees, in 52 letters.

In order to be consistent and make sure I worked hard, I told myself that if the series reached 1,000 people before year-end, I did a good job.

WE CRUSHED THE YEARLY GOAL IN A MONTH AND A HALF!

We have grown way beyond my expectations and show no signs of stopping.

This shows we’re all in the same boat. All of us are trying to navigate the murky waters of personal finance and doing out best not to crash into rocks or run into mermaids (or worse yet, cyclops’).

Finally, this series has given us a map. (A map many people trust because, unlike many finance blogs, this one doesn’t ask you to pay for it’s “exclusive $500 course on how to reach financial independence in a week”. It’s why I did it all on Medium, so it’s guaranteed to be ad-free and fraud-free 😊)

As a student of Odysseus (learning from his successes and failures), I won’t steer you wrong 😉

Here’s a few updates from this month-and-a-half:

  • We became one of the top 300 most followed publications on Medium.
  • The good folks at Quartz contacted me to republish our most beloved post (funny thing is the Quartz app was the inspiration for my next app, which shows the universe works in mysterious ways).
  • Yours truly has become one of the top 3 writers in both the “finance” and “investing” categories on Medium (Hi, James Altucher!).
  • We’ve been viewed 18,409 times in the last 30 days! Our most viewed day was February 12 with 2,407 views. Right now it’s 11:59am and we’re at 763 views.
  • Update: We also trended #1 on Pocket February 20th! asdfasdfasdfasdfasdf

I have no idea where we will be by the end of this year. But it’s exciting. We are just getting started.

In return, I’d like to ask for a small favor. In order to be considered a real blogger, I must drive more people to the Twittersphere. It’s also a good way for me to share smaller things like really cool stuff that happens. If you have a Twitter account, could you please click follow on this link?

See you on Tuesday for letter#8, be well.

I love you,

R

Thanks for reading! 😊If you enjoyed it, test how many times can you hit 👏 in 5 seconds. It’s great cardio for your fingers AND will help other people see the story.You can follow me on Twitter at @richardreeze to find out whenever others just like it come out.📚 Do you like books? If so you might enjoy my latest obsession: 
Most Recommended Books.📚

Since I write about finance, legal jargon is obligatory (because the guys in suits made me). Before following any of my advice, read this disclaimer.

Here’s Wait But Why’s accurate representation of my reaction when Quartz contacted me:

--

--

Richard Reis
Personal Finance Series by Richard Reis

"I write this not for the many, but for you; each of us is enough of an audience for the other." - Epicurus https://www.richardreis.me/