Why I’m excited for the next growing season

Samuel Morton
Personal Growing Blog
2 min readOct 23, 2014

--

Juicy red tomatoes may seem a distant memory and the colder darker seasons may be rolling in but I’m excited more than ever about what’s to come. Thoughts from my mind.

It now seems ages since I first took on my allotment patch, equiped myself with a machette (that would make Rambo proud!), blasted out Lord of the Rings theme tunes and hacked the living day-lights out of all the weeds which matched me in terms of their height.

Digging out the weeds from my first patch, erecting the polytunnels (to grow more heat-loving crops), constructing raised beds and getting my shed/library/storage area up have all taken time away from growing more produce and I am thankful for those that have helped me go from this:

Earliest picture I have taken after all the Rambo’in was done!

to this:

Although me & my family grew lots of produce this year, 50% of this plot was, due to time limitations, not used for growing produce.

Now the plot layout is complete and nicely laid out, the next growing season will determine whether I can become self-sufficient in vegetables and fruit for the year.

This coupled with the construction and implementation of time-saving features (such as a drip irrigation system), new acquired knowledge, and trying out new concepts such as Aquaponics (raising fish for food and growing vegetables simultaneously) means I am eager to get stuck in to the next growing season!

So off and onwards to growing more food in less time, with less effort and money.

The journey continues.

--

--

Samuel Morton
Personal Growing Blog

A blog about a guy who blog’s about trying to become more self-sufficient, the practical utilisation of science in this quest and his journey through life.