Are You a Self-Improvement ‘Junkie’ Or Are You An Action Taker?

Jari Roomer
Peak Productivity
6 min readMay 13, 2019

--

Five years ago, right after picking up my first self-help book The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, I got hooked on self-improvement. Every new insight I gained, every new paradigm shift that occurred and every limiting belief that got demolished was as exciting as counting down on New Year’s Eve.

It wasn’t really a surprise that I got hooked on self-improvement. You see, in the months prior to picking up The 7 Habits, I completely self-destructed. I was stuck in a 9–5 job that I absolutely hated and I was struggling with a serious gambling addiction that no one knew about.

After having gone through enough pain, I decided one day that I had enough. I had enough of being broke. Enough of feeling like a failure. Enough of the pain and misery. I literally Googled ‘how to become successful’, and I quickly learned that successful people are readers. That’s when I had my first glimpse into the world of self-improvement, and I never left ever since.

The hope, ambition and dreams that it offered were a much-needed source of light after hitting personal rock-bottom.

Did Anything Really Change?

Fast-forward about a year and a half later, and I had read more than 40 books and followed a bunch of online courses. I felt pretty…

--

--

Jari Roomer
Peak Productivity

Made $300k writing online | Join my free 5-day course to monetize your writing → jariroomer.com/six-figure-creator-blueprint/