Prevent Relationship-Drift By Showing Your Hand

Flip selfishness on its head to cultivate better relationships and get what you want in life.

Corey Fradin
Peak Productivity

--

A person holding playing cards.
Photo by Kin Li on Unsplash

Relationship-drift was creeping in. I could feel it, though I didn’t understand it at the time.

The restaurant was silent, save for the Japanese-style elevator music playing softly in the background. The waiter had just left. Our sushi would arrive shortly. Yet between me and the person sitting across the table, the repose of eating felt like an eternity away. How did we get to this point? Was it not just recently that we would sit talking for hours? Why were we now locked into this awkward staring contest?

It was my fault.

There was something I wasn’t telling him. A secret, you could say. It wasn’t major or important, but it was something I didn’t feel like sharing. So I elected not to speak about it. But in not speaking about it, that was the only thing I could think to talk about. The myriad other questions I could ask or points I could stir up were unavailable to me. I could only think about one thing — that which I didn’t want to share.

And there, in that withholding, was a threat. If the situation wasn’t remedied, and soon, we would experience the affliction known as relationship-drift.

--

--