To Live like Rockefeller, Must You Care For Yourself like Rockefeller?

Or is it ok to work yourself to the bone?

Corey Fradin
Peak Productivity

--

30 Rock at dusk.
Photo by George Bakos on Unsplash

My days were filled with one activity: meditation. Stillness was my objective. For in that stillness, I hoped, would come a surge of ideas newly unlocked. And it worked. Each day my mind filled with increasingly wiser suggestions. Chapters for a book, insights into philosophical problems, and more. But boy oh boy was it boring. So, so boring.

I got much done, but at the expense of enjoyment.

As a response to that boredom, my days today are filled with one activity: work. Action is my objective. For in that action, I hope, is the promise of results. And it too has been working. Each day I write things like this, I talk with evermore businesses about my speaking for them, and more. It’s a lot of fun, but boy oh boy are my days busy. So, so busy.

I get much done, but at the expense of leisure.

Recently I read through my notes on productivity. In doing so, I noticed that I had inadvertently stumbled across two historical figures with entirely different approaches to the matter. I will now share both of their stories with you in the hopes that, together, we may uncover which is best for the sake of productivity — leisure, action, or something in between.

--

--