Why Regret Is The Last Thing You Should Ever Worry About

To worry about regret is to worry about reality.

Corey Fradin
Peak Productivity

--

A person leaning on a chair.
Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

I returned a book recently. I try not to do that too often. It’s the whole finish-what-you-start thing. But I just couldn’t push on.

Before I caved though, I first did what I often do right before returning a book. I went on Amazon and checked the reviews. Because I generally assume I’m wrong. I assume I have poor taste or that I just don’t “get it.” So I go on Amazon and see what people have to say. Many a time I will give the book a second chance with some newfound context.

But not in this case.

One reviewer noted something that resonated with me. And I knew then that my journey with the book was over. To paraphrase, the reviewer complained that the main character never took responsibility for their actions. They were a poor-me type. Their choices were what led to their ruin and nothing else.

I agreed.

What if you could do it all again?

The book itself is about someone who recently died. In between life and death, the character is given the option to live a different version of their existence. A life with no regrets. A life with infinite possibilities. One where they could return to Earth and…

--

--