1 Critical Skill Successful People Often Lose Over Time

Never forget to be stupid

Todd Brison
Personal Growth

--

One of my more successful friends sent me a text the other day:

“A doctor told me once that my toddler is frustrated because she has all these thoughts in her head and doesn’t know how to communicate them.

I feel the same way”

I couldn’t help but smile. This guy is talented. Sharp. Well-connected. On his way to wealth. But here he was, feeling useless in the face of a project completely outside his wheelhouse.

James and I talk once a week about what we’re working on For every week in 2019, he told me how excited he was to make this particular project a reality. He talked about this goal 52 Fridays in a row without starting on it.

Now he’s working, but stumbling. He is timid, reserved. He makes false starts and falls down like his daughter did when she learned to walk not long ago. Imagine the disconnect he feels. During the day, James makes six figures. He juggles clients and rakes in cash like a pro.

Then, he clocks out and becomes a beginner. He is frustrated at times because he’s forgotten what it felt like to start from scratch.

--

--