11 Things Socially Aware People Don’t Say

What we choose not to say is just as important as what we decide to say

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

--

“Zoe, What’s up? You’re beaming!”

“You’re not going to believe it,” Zoe replied wearing a smile as wide as the sky. “I’ve finally gotten paid from the company I told you about in the United States for my designs. It basically doubled my monthly income. That’s not even the best part: I was offered a three-year contract. The owner of the company told me to expect the same pay, if not more, each month going forward.”

Zoe is the mother of my son’s best friend. Since I met her two years ago, she’s been fighting to get her passion project of designing patterns for kids' clothing off the ground. Money has been tight. She and her husband have a second child on the way and they’re both working temp jobs in order to make ends meet.

Before my wife and I could offer her congratulations, however, one of the other people we were having dinner with decided to stomp on her parade: “Don’t get too excited,” he said in a stern voice. “Doing business between Spain and America is not cheap. You’re going to get crushed with taxes.”

We tried to butt in and salvage what was left of Zoe’s smile, but it was too late. As soon as she heard, “You can kiss half that money goodbye,”…

--

--

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT