5 Desirable Traits That Need To Be Shown Not Told

Don’t use these words to describe yourself

Amardeep Parmar
Personal Growth

--

Created by the author — original from Unsplash

Organized icebreakers were once my version of hell. I’d sit in a large group waiting for my turn to answer whilst panicking about how to come up with an answer that would make people like me.

One of the worst questions was “describe yourself in three words”. It’s the same if they ask what your friends would describe you as. Everyone knows it’s just a way to make the answer seem less arrogant but really it’s your own thoughts.

A cringefest is unleashed and people’s choices often revealed the opposite about their personality than what they hoped for. The question reveals what you want other people to think of you as not what you actually are.

Your actions prove the most desirable traits over time not by repeatedly telling people how great you are. It’s a mistake I’ve made myself many times. Here are five traits you need to show not tell.

Passionate

New person: “I’m passionate about traveling.”
Me: “Great, where are some places you’d love to go?”
New person: “Erm I can’t think of any…”

I’ve had a variation of this conversation so many times. Someone claims to be passionate about…

--

--

Amardeep Parmar
Personal Growth

Founder of The BAE HQ @amardeepbae + Host of Entrepreneur's Handbook ☆ I help the ambitious develop deep self awareness ☆ https://antiburnout.mindfuldriven.com