A Mindset For Tough Times

With each calm response, the next emotional battle gets easier

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

--

Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

In the past, big decisions used to trigger intense stress. I worried a lot about the uncertainties about my future. But looking too far ahead was doing more harm than good. Even small problems would snowball into major stress, draining my energy. I couldn’t focus on my present experiences.

It was exhausting, not to mention unproductive.

I’ve been practicing what I call “name and tame,” for over two years.

For every challenging experience, I identify my triggers — the things that send my brain into overdrive. Once I know my enemy, I can start to disarm it. If I can stop a tough experience from spiralling, I quickly intervene.

Whether it’s a helpless feeling, stress about a future event, or emotional overload, I become very conscious of it very quickly. Once I know what pushes my buttons, I can prepare. I can avoid unnecessary exposure or plan coping mechanisms in advance.

Sometimes, detaching from a bad experience means simply taking a step back. When I feel the familiar prickle of anxiety, I pause. I take a few deep breaths, letting the oxygen flood my body and calm the rising tide. Maybe I step outside for a quick walk.

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com