Change the World Within You

And the outside world will change, too

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
5 min readAug 3, 2024

--

Cartoon by John P. Weiss

I saw a woman the other day spitting venom in a car dealership.

She brought her vehicle in for repair, and I guess they kept her waiting too long. Or maybe she didn’t like the cost of repairs. All I know is that the people she dealt with had the patience of Job.

“I want to talk to the manager! This is bull*$%! You’ve kept me here all morning, and I have things to do!” she yelled at them.

“I’m sorry, Miss, but sometimes we find stuff we didn’t know we were going to find. And we want to do a good job, so unfortunately, it can take time,” the maintenance rep said.

She had none of it.

A man who had been waiting with her, probably her husband, leaned in and said something, but she snapped back, “I don’t need your damn suggestions!”

Maybe she was having a bad day.

Or perhaps the world within her is a vortex of anger, regret, and resentment. All I know is that the angrier she got, the worse the situation became.

Everyone was miserable, and they were nowhere closer to a positive resolution.

One of the dealership employees offered to bring her a coffee and pastry, which set her off more. “I’m not here for…

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write elegant, thoughtful stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my classic black and white photography.