How A Deaf Composer Can Help You Improve Your Creative Work

Your originality matters more than society’s soundtrack

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
7 min readFeb 21, 2021

--

Illustration by John P. Weiss

Libraries used to be silent. I know because back in high school and during my university days, I loved the monastic ambiance of the library.

Nowadays, libraries aren’t so quiet. The one I used to visit in California hosted open room meetings. Kids were laughing and horsing around after school. People didn’t whisper, and the librarians abandoned the “Shush!”

Photo by Devon Divine

I eventually turned to my vehicle as a reading and writing sanctuary. I used to leave the office on my lunch breaks, and drive somewhere quiet. Usually a serene backroad, amongst the solitude of trees and grass.

Inside my car, I was able to control the climate, and there was no one to interrupt me. I spent many a lunch hour reading, thinking, drawing, and writing in my car.

There’s just something about silence that allows us to tap into our creativity and original thinking. There’s a kind of magic to be found when we cloak ourselves in stillness.

“I imagine what it must be like to stay

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.