How to Learn Any Timeless Skill For Life In Less Than 66 Days

To get started, identify the first 20 percent of the sub-skills you need to build a better foundation

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth
Published in
4 min readSep 25, 2021

--

Photo: fauxels/Pexels

Hard skills open doors.

Timeless or permanent skills keep you in the room for as long as possible.

Some skills can do a lot for your career for a few years. And others can advance your life for good.

The hard truth is, some skills expire.

All the career skills I spent four years of my life acquiring at the university have proven to be temporary. Today, I rely on totally different sets of skills for work and life.

If I were starting over in any structured learning environment, I would invest my time in skills I will actually use.

But it’s not all bad. I built a foundation for stacking better skills. Plus, I learned a lot of life skills from remarkable people.

I’m a massive fan of learning permanent skills.

Hard skills won’t make you wealthy, but lifelong learning can help you pick the right skills for any pursuit in life.

If you can pick up skills as fast as possible, you can thrive in our ever-changing world of work. A sense of wonder and the…

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com