How to (Not) Ruin This Year for Yourself

Most people have already given up on their New Year’s goals

Sinem Günel
Personal Growth

--

Photo by Matheus Bertelli

Did you know most people give up on their New Year’s Resolutions and yearly goals by mid-February?

For most, the same cycle repeats year after year: We set big, ambitious goals by the end of December, start our year full of excitement, quickly realize we can’t keep up, slip off our good intentions by February, and struggle to get back on track for the rest of the year.

And as if that’s not enough, most years pass by in the blink of an eye, and we find ourselves back in December, wondering how to make the next year the best one ever.

Frankly, I don’t love huge, sudden changes because they’re rarely sustainable. I prefer subtle shifts that lead to lasting improvements.

So here are some tiny (or huge) lessons I remind myself to stick to my yearly resolutions just a little bit longer:

Do less so you can do more.

My business mantra for the year is to scale through simplification.

It sounds fancy, but it really just means to prioritize saying no and eliminating the tasks that don’t bring me closer to the life I want.

--

--