I’m entitled to my lonesome

Dr. Furaha Asani
Personal Growth
Published in
2 min readJun 3, 2016

My asking you to pray for me was not because I didn’t believe I could pray for myself

but because I wanted to tell you in few words that even if I’m not as open anyore with you, your support for me will always be relevant

My spending time on my own was not because I didn’t want to be in your presence

but because I have had to re-learn how to be at peace in my own silence, and how to function amidst my personal noise

My limiting how much information I give in our conversations was not because I didn’t want to share with you

but because I had to train myself once again to become the listener that you deserve. Also to re-fit the filter of kindness over my mouth: quantity of words will never be synonymous with quality of conversation. And lastly, because I just need to learn to shut up some times.

My asking how you are has always been very genuine, and it remained so the last time I asked

because I don’t believe that just because my skies may be stormy and cloudy that you should hide your bright skies from me

Dear friends I beg you

please be patient with me while I navigate through this phase of my life

Don’t give up on me.

This has been siting in my drafts for weeks with this exact title, and me always being scared for some reason to hit ‘publish.’ So imagine my delight to read this piece by Ezinne. Her piece gave me the push to publish mine, and in some way, the comfort to embrace my feelings. Ezinne I am grateful.

--

--

Dr. Furaha Asani
Personal Growth

Migrant. Postdoctoral researcher. Teacher. Mental Health Advocate. Writer. Professional in the streets, loud on the sheets of paper.