“I’m Not Good Enough” Is a Lie You Tell Yourself That Could Ruin Your Future

Today you are enough, tomorrow you will be enough

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

--

Photo: Jakob Owens/Unsplash

“I am not good enough.”

We’ve all heard this phrase, and we’ve probably said it to ourselves at some point. But guess what?

All of the people we admire and look up to have said this exact phrase to themselves and one day changed their minds about themselves.

So why do we keep telling ourselves that we’re not good enough?

Our inner dialogue can often be very damaging and detrimental to our happiness and success in life.

A few of the most common thoughts that we have are: “I’m not smart enough,” “I’m not talented enough,” or “I’m not pretty enough.”

These thoughts might sound harmless at first, but they can damage your confidence and keep you from reaching your full potential.

Isaac Asimov once said, “And above all things, never think that you’re not good enough yourself. A man should never think that. My belief is that in life people will take you at your own reckoning.”

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com