It’s the Pictures You Don’t Take

Case Tanaka
Personal Growth
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2015

--

I find myself standing at the top of mountains a mile up contemplating all the photos I don’t take. Those pictures are my favorites. I love photography mainly because it’s the best way I’ve found to trick myself into really living my life.

Like most people I am very good at falling into patterns, doing the same things and being scared of stepping out of my comfort zone. I think that is why a lot of us feel like something is missing in our lives. I have never believed that we were meant to be these frightened animals we appear to be, perpetually doomed to go on living in fear of actually feeling alive. This is why we all need photography in our lives. Well I mean whatever your personal equivalent to photography is. Whatever tool or inspiration that will get you to the top of that mountain and make you realize when you get there that it’s not about pushing the shutter. It’s about looking around and smiling when you realize you climbed a mountain to take a picture and couldn’t take the picture because you were to busy climbing a mountain.

For all the people like me who forget there are mountains to climb and a life to be lived.

Thank you guys for reading and I hope you can find what drives you to really live your life the way you want to live it. Check out my Website cktmedia.com and follow me on Instagram:https://instagram.com/casetanaka/

--

--

Case Tanaka
Personal Growth

Photographer & University of Washington grad '18. Former Photo Editor at The Daily. Exploring the PNW since 1996.