Make Time for What You Love

How to leverage the vice of the aged

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
7 min readDec 5, 2020

--

Cartooning desk of John P. Weiss

Live long enough and you’re bound to look back on the landscape of your life and mourn things long gone. The sting of losing loved ones goes without saying. Ditto for beloved pets.

Many lament the demise of their youthful appearance or good health. Others call up fond memories of their first house or car and wonder what happened to those exciting days gone by.

There are times when apropos of nothing, memories of my childhood home and early life come to the forefront of my mind.

“Nostalgia, the vice of the aged. We watch so many old movies our memories come in monochrome.” -Angela Carter

They’re sometimes accompanied by a fleeting sense of displacement. Like I’ve slept walked into the future, and don’t recognize where I am now.

Before long, I realize it’s just a touch of nostalgia, and I get on with my life. Until something comes along to remind me, yet again, of the things I miss.

I love cartoons

Growing up in the 1970s, newspapers were prolific and so were editorial cartoons and comic strips. My parents lived in the hills of Los Gatos, California. They didn’t take the paper…

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.