10 best books on love & relationships

Jess Semaan
Personal Growth
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

When I turned 30 and was single with a poor track record of stable relationships, it dawned on me that perhaps a relationship is something I could teach myself. My parents’ love was violent and unhealthy and ended in a bitter divorce. I had no models for healthy relationships. So I read and I read. Here are some of the books I found helpful. May you continue to unearth the love within you and give it first and foremost to your self.

1- If the Buddha dated, Charlotte Kasl

Practical, playful and buddhist inspired guide to find and keep love.

“Ego says: I want someone to fill me up. Spirit says: I’ll have someone to help me wake up, to challenge my blind spots and be a companion and playmate on the journey.”

2- Mating in captivity, Esther Perel

One of the world’s most respected therapist on love and sex, Esther Perel offers a bold, provocative new take on intimacy and sex.

Today, we turn to one person to provide what an entire village once did: a sense of grounding, meaning, and continuity. At the same time, we expect our committed relationships to be romantic as well as emotionally and sexually fulfilling. Is it any wonder that so many relationships crumble under the weight of it all?

--

--