The 6 Habits of Kind, Generous People

Instilling confidence in others is a choice

Michael Thompson
Personal Growth
Published in
5 min readMay 20, 2020

--

As a shy kid, I was in awe of confident people. The way they moved. The way they spoke. This admiration continued with me well into my thirties. I wanted to be like them.

Today, however, at the age of 41, I don’t really care if someone exudes great confidence or not. Nor do I look up to people because society deems them successful.

The people I admire most are kind. They are generous. Those who do what they can to instill confidence in others. The people who make others feel truly seen.

I wish I had come to this conclusion earlier in life. Emulating the actions of the kind and generous people around you is one of the best decisions you can make.

1. They are masters of the follow-up

I’ve lived in Spain for ten years. During this time, it’s been hard to keep in contact with old friends. Every few weeks, however, like clockwork, a friend of mine reaches out.

This same person has four kids and owns a decent-sized business. I’d be naive to think I’m the only person who he treats this way. The reason for his success is obvious: he cares.

--

--

Michael Thompson
Personal Growth

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT