The Best Advice You’ll Ever Hear on Personal Growth from a True Champion

Christopher D. Connors
Personal Growth

--

Sunday night, hundreds of millions of people watched an underdog seize center stage and deliver a Super Bowl championship to a long-deprived fan base. The game on the field was scintillating and one of the best Super Bowls of all time. The words spoken off the field by the Super Bowl MVP are what will resonate forever with those of us who look to grow and rebound from failure.

I’ve learned through playing college sports, coaching high school sports and competing each day in the corporate world that “losing” gets a truly bad rap. While none of us try to lose, we all end up losing at some point. In our jobs, relationships and personal ventures we all experience failure. It’s unavoidable. Yet look all around you — who ever salutes a loser?

Of course, it’s a winner’s world and the winners are lauded, celebrated and honored for all time. Winning is the name of the game and it should be our broad end-goal whether we’re an entrepreneur, football player or aspiring executive. What most people are afraid to share or unwilling to divulge is that the way to become a winner is first to lose. To fail. To make mistakes.

But always— to KEEP GOING.

Super Bowl MVP Nick Foles understands this better than anyone.

You see, Nick Foles was traded less than three years ago by the franchise that just won its first Super Bowl, thanks to his greatness. He landed in St. Louis where had had a relatively mediocre season, then ultimately asked to be released. After a brief stop in Kansas City for one season, Foles returned to Philadelphia to be a backup quarterback.

For most of this season, Foles served as the back-up to one of the league’s bright young stars — Carson Wentz. It wasn’t until Wentz went down with a terrible knee injury that Foles got his chance again. He certainly made the most of it. Now, on top of the world, Foles chose to reflect upon his path to stardom over the past several years.

He realized that no one takes the easy path to success. We all lose before we win. Learning from failures is what winning is all about. There’s no easy route to becoming a bestselling author. There’s no high-speed elevator straight to the CEO’s chair. And no one is going to hand you millions of dollars of “seed money” unless you have a bulletproof business plan that will help benefit you and your investors.

Learn from Nick Foles. Failing is

“I think the big thing is don’t be afraid to fail,” Foles said. “I think in our society today, Instagram, Twitter, it’s a highlight reel. It’s all the good things. And then when you look at it, when you think like, wow, when you have a rough day, ‘My life’s not as good as that,’ (you think) you’re failing.

“Failure is a part of life. It’s a part of building character and growing. Without failure, who would you be? I wouldn’t be up here if I hadn’t fallen thousands of times. Made mistakes.

“We all are human, we all have weaknesses, and I think throughout this, (it’s been important) to be able to share that and be transparent. I know when I listen to people speak and they share their weaknesses, I’m listening. Because (it) resonates.

“So I’m not perfect. I’m not Superman. I might be in the NFL, I might have just won a Super Bowl, but, hey, we still have daily struggles, I still have daily struggles. And that’s where my faith comes in, that’s where my family comes in.

I think when you look at a struggle in your life, just know that’s just an opportunity for your character to grow. And that’s just been the message. Simple. If something’s going on in your life and you’re struggling? Embrace it. Because you’re growing.” Source: NBC Sports

You are a Winner. Keep Going.

The Value of You e-book is available for a limited time for just $2.99! Order the e-book HERE!

Join my newsletter if you’d like, Follow my Facebook Page and join me on your journey. Let’s GO!

--

--