The Creative Insomniac

Ivan Lim
Personal Growth
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2015

--

The dreamers that can’t sleep

2 am. It’s the grey area between a Goodnight or Good Morning.

Tucked in bed but the mind is awake. “I really ought to get some sleep, gotta be up at seven. Oh wait!” Creative juices start flowing. Inspiration decides to pay a visit. “Oh well, better get my notebook.”

4 am. My body submits into the warm embrace of my bed. “I’m so gonna regret this tomorrow…oh wait, I mean today…well, at least I'm happy with what I wrote….”

Does this sound familiar to you? If it does, you might be one of those Creative Insomniacs like me. We are a special breed of people with masochistic minds. Minds that, when you are ready for sleep, choose to explode with activity.

Often the mind wanders aimlessly. Sometimes it goes through how the day went; like every aspect of it. Sometimes it thinks about tomorrow and plans for it; breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes it ponders about work, about hobbies, about love, about life, and about every single thing it possibly can.

Maybe I should have went to the gym yesterday. Do I actually look good in that green shoes? Can my elbow touch my nose? Oh never mind, it can’t. I wonder…how much wood would a woodchuck chuck?

But sometimes, just sometimes, the mind transforms into a creative genius. An expert mathematician. A philosophical writer. Or an artistic designer. You obtain a state of clarity that empowers your mind. It’s like someone pushed the nitro ignition of your brain. Suddenly your drawings are amazing, your designs are beautiful, and your writings are engaging.

Whatever you churn out during that secluded period of the night, it’s bound to be good. Really good.

Take film-maker Alan Berliner as an example. He is one of America’s most acclaimed independent filmmakers. His work has been described as such: “powerful, compelling and bittersweet… full of juicy conflict and contradiction, innovative in their cinematic technique, unpredictable in their structures… Alan Berliner illustrates the power of fine art to transform life.” This guy here is truly a creative insomniac — he even made a documentary on his lifelong insomnia and how it plays a role in his creative process.

Another is Adam Young, the guy behind Owl City. It all started because he suffered from insomnia and he decided to start composing music when he couldn’t sleep.

“I have a bit of a problem falling asleep. Strangely enough it is when I can’t sleep that I tend to find most inspiration.” — Adam Young

And the list goes on.

I’m not here to tell you to develop a sleeping disorder though. Or that losing sleep will improve your creativity and productivity. That’s actually counter productive in the long run. It’s proven by science!

If you have difficulty sleeping, please by all means, go correct your sleep habits. You’d be surprised how many people face this issue. In fact, according to HomeMed, about 35% of adults have symptoms of insomnia at some point in their lives. That’s 1 in every 3 person. There are many great guides online that will teach you how, legit or not. It will improve your life greatly. Trust me, do it.

What I want to say is that on the occasion that if you can’t sleep, and only if you really can’t sleep, go do something. Do not make it a habit to remain in bed if you cannot sleep. Imagine your brain as that hyperactive kid— you have to entertain that kid until that kid gets tired, if not that kid will just bug you endlessly.

Instead, do something with that borrowed time. That magical time where creativity and inspiration comes naturally from within. Where you can still dream while being wide awake.

And achieve something from it.

If you are a Creative Insomniac too, drop me a comment and tell me your stories! For me, I love drawing and writing during those times.

Also, drop a recommend on your way out too :)

--

--

Ivan Lim
Personal Growth

Firefighter, Astronaut, Doctor, Teacher, Policeman? Nah, just a Dreamer.