The New Year is Just Another Day. Live it Everyday.

A short poem and cheat sheet for 2018 and beyond

Brandon Evans
Personal Growth
2 min readDec 31, 2017

--

Each today, well-lived, makes yesterday a dream of happiness and each tomorrow a vision of hope. Look, therefore, to this one day, for it and it alone is life. — Sanskrit Poem

While today is just one of 365 on the calendar, there is magic in this day.

All year we struggle to live in the present. We agonize over our past one moment and anticipate future problems the next. The only moment that truly exists is the present, yet we live much of our lives somewhere else.

The new year provides a moment where past, present and future all live in the now. In reality, this occurs in every moment. But, the new year is a tool that can help us recognize that all time meets here. Right here. Right now.

Today I can see and feel all that 2017 has brought me:

I see all the struggles, and I see all the pain.

I see all the questions I asked, and all the wisdom I re-discovered.

I see all the new people who entered my life and all those who have remained.

I see all the failures and I see all the progress.

I see all that was accomplished and all that is ahead.

I see all the love that is around me and all the love that is within me.

I see the man I was and I see the man I want to be.

I see the man I am and I see the man I’ve always been.

I’ve got nothing to do today but smile. — Paul Simon

Today, and everyday, we get to celebrate all of this. We are all moments, past and present, all colliding all the time here in the present. Here’s a quick cheat sheet for how to make the most of this moment:

1 | Forgive yourself and forgive others.

2 | Celebrate yourself and celebrate others.

3 | Release your guilt and follow your joy.

4 | Fear less and love more.

5 | Be here now.

To all of you that have shared a moment (or many) with me this year, I thank you. I am truly grateful for each of you. I wish you all many more magical moments. Happy new year today and everyday.

Spread the love. Share this with three people who you shared magical moments with this year.

Like this post? Please 👏🏼 below so others read it.

Follow me to be the first to see my stories.

--

--

Brandon Evans
Personal Growth

Recovering Type A | Aspiring Type Be | Chief Elevation Officer + Founder @ 1heart.com | Coach & Guide to Heart-Led Entrepreneurs | brandonevans.be