This Is How to Dance With Loss

A love letter for the broken

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
8 min readJan 1, 2021

--

Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

The dispatcher’s voice startled me. It was 3 AM and I was parked in a lonely, empty lot in the north end of town. I liked parking there because it was quiet, and I could get my reports done.

“Code 7 at Oak Tree Villa,” the dispatcher continued over the radio. In other police agencies, Code-7 meant “lunch break.” Unfortunately, in my department’s radio vernacular, it meant “dead body.”

Oak Tree Villa was our town’s only retirement and assisted living community. A local firefighter once called it “Croak Tree Villa,” which was awful but not inaccurate. Cops and firefighters often refer to retirement/assisted living communities as “God’s waiting room.”

“After you find out all the things that can go wrong, your life becomes less about living and more about waiting.”
― Chuck Palahniuk, Choke

I drove the short five miles across town and arrived at Oak Tree Villa. It was summer, and the crickets were in full song as I navigated the pathway to the front entrance.

So many roads to chose

Fire personnel were already there, as their station house was nearby. Inside the lobby, I was greeted by…

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.