This Is the Destructive Habit That’s Messing Up Your Life

And the cure is a lonely word

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
8 min readApr 25, 2020

--

Artwork by John P. Weiss

I just picked up a hot mocha and settled into the driver’s seat of my patrol car. Earlier that morning I handled a traffic collision.

Thankfully, no one was hurt, but I spent over an hour getting statements, taking measurements, and coordinating with the tow truck driver.

I finally had a chance to take a break and enjoy my mocha. I leaned back in my seat and enjoyed the steaming aroma.

“Coffee and chocolate — the inventor of mocha should be sainted.” -Cherise Sinclair, House of the Lion

Predictably, just as I took my first sip, dispatch came over the radio with a call: “Shoplifter in custody.”

So much for my coffee break. I clamped the lid on my mocha cup and drove to the local K-Mart store where security had detained a shoplifter.

The manager greeted me by the entrance of the store.

“Hey John, how’s it going,” she said.

“Oh fine, Carol. I was just about to enjoy my mocha when this call came in,” I told her.

“Murphy’s law, right? Anyway, Joey’s upstairs with the guy he caught,” she said.

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.