To Become a More Effective Lifelong Learner, Build a Learning Engine

Intellectual curiosity is your most valuable skill in a rapidly changing world

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth
Published in
4 min readJun 7, 2021

--

Image source

I’m a massive advocate for lifelong learning. I’ve written a lot about it. I think it’s the best way to take charge of your own intellectual growth.

“The “learning engine” is at the core of every lifelong learner,” says Sahil Bloom. I rely on dozens of newsletters, blogs, Twitter accounts, podcasts and a growing collection of books to keep learning. I value learning from smart people. So I deliberately make time for learning.

A learning engine is a set of tools designed to improve how you think, make decisions, work and build a great life. It’s a firm foundation for growth. “Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.” Isaac Asimov said.

“It is comprised of all the learning “inputs” regularly consumed — books, newsletters, podcasts, videos, etc,” Sahil said.

Without a learning engine, your creative output could suffer. Everything I write about is something I’ve learned from smart people or through experience.

No true genius thinks alone. Aristotle was a student of Plato. Plato learned from Socrates. Einstein learned a lot fromHeinrich Friedrich…

--

--

Thomas Oppong
Personal Growth

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com