To Tell Better Stories, See the Private Battles In Others

Through empathy and love, you can improve the world

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
6 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

All photographs by John P. Weiss

A good vantage point can be everything.

I spent the morning in downtown Las Vegas, trying to capture moments of real-life with my trusty Sony A6600 camera. The joy of street photography is that it forces you to slow down and closely observe the world around you.

The challenge of street photography is that it’s hard to capture people up close, in their natural state, without putting them off or annoying them.

Sometimes I simply smile and ask permission to take their picture. That’s what I did with the fellow below, who was getting exercise in a parking lot.

JohnPWeiss.com

Other times, people will spot your camera and offer to have their picture taken. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s cool when it does.

That’s what happened with the beautiful young woman below. She sells tourist bus rides on the Vegas strip. As I walked by, she smiled and said, “Hey, you want to take my picture?” Her enthusiasm and upbeat personality were infectious.

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.