Why the Unique Is Found in the Broken

The hidden benefits of a little chaos

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
8 min readJul 3, 2020

--

Artwork by John P. Weiss

Like everyone else stuck in pandemic hibernation, I’ve indulged social media more than I should. What’s worse, I know that Facebook, Instagram, and other social media platforms are time-sucking rabbit holes. Dark caves designed to swallow our attention indefinitely.

In my defense, there’s a purpose to my Instagram spelunking. I’m searching for answers to a creative and artistic malaise that burrowed into me months ago.

I reached a place where my creative work no longer satisfied me. My landscape paintings felt like tired cliches. Same old rocks, trees, and mountains.

My cartoon illustrations lost their sketchy spark. Where once I used to spend a lot of time fleshing out cartoons with detail, I began simplifying them. Mostly to keep up with self-imposed publication deadlines.

Two-post-a-day economy

Speaking of publication deadlines, the depth and content of my writing became another source of my creative angst. It’s no secret that writing online is different than writing for magazines or books.

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.