Why You Need to Go to Infinity and Beyond

How Buzz Lightyear changed my life

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth
Published in
4 min readJun 20, 2019

--

Cartoons by John P. Weisslife

Years ago, Buzz Lightyear inspired me to seek “Infinity and beyond!”

When my son was a little boy, we discovered the delightful Pixar animation “Toy Story.” Our favorite scene was when Buzz Lightyear decided to prove to the other toys that he could fly.

Watch the following short clip:

One afternoon after laughing through the various antics in Toy Story, I decided my son and I needed an adventure of our own. It had been a long work week and I was a bit tired out, but I wanted to do something fun with my boy.

Back then, we lived amidst the towering redwoods of Northern California. I got the idea that my son and I should take a hike and explore the great outdoors. The sky was blue and the weather was clear and bright. After a quick lunch, we headed out.

Some kind of majestic chair

We drove into the state park and found suitable parking. Shoelaces tied and with a spring in our step, we…

--

--

John P. Weiss
Personal Growth

I write books, stories and essays about life, often illustrated with my photography and artwork. JohnPWeiss.com.