Your Brain Doesn’t Want You to Be Happy. It Wants You to Be Safe.

It’s not your fault, but you can overcome it.

Sinem Günel
Personal Growth

--

Photo by Alessio Cesario from Pexels

Did you ever feel like something’s wrong with you because you’re not happy? As if you’re making mistakes because everyone around you seems to be so much happier than you?

Or did you ever think of all the things that could go wrong in your life even though everything’s actually fine? Well, you’re not alone.

I’ve never been a cheerful person, and growing up, I always wondered if something’s wrong with me. People constantly asked me if everything was okay because I looked so grumpy.

I didn’t even think of faking smiles to avoid those annoying questions, but deep inside, I felt irritated.

According to a study carried out by psychologists at Queen’s University, more than 6,000 thoughts cross our minds every day. But what’s even more fascinating is that most of those thoughts are negative or repetitive — or both.

In 2005, the National Science Foundation published an article describing how 80% of our thoughts are negative, and more than 90% are exactly the same thoughts as the day before.

It’s not your fault

--

--