My diary: ASD meets mainstream primary school

A trip back in time… In 2011 — After weeks of preparation, the “big day” had finally arrived.

--

My littlest chap was about to start his first day at school. All the checks had been done:

  • His new school had received the all-important handover file from Nursery, this included his Individual Education Plan (IEP), progress to date, an “all about me” summary sheet — everything you could possibly want to know about him.
  • We’d been looking at pictures of the new school and using social stories to ensure he understood that he was moving on from nursery and that this would be his new safe place.
  • We’d been practicing saying “Good Morning Mrs (new teachers name)”
  • His uniform had been purchased and clearly named.
  • All our family and friends had been speaking positively about his move to “big” school.

What could possibly go wrong?

Luckily for our little chap, if there is one good thing that had come out of the previous few months it was the fact that Mummy had learnt to take NOTHING for granted.

His first day consisted of two hours in the afternoon so I “popped” into the office in the morning to ask if I could have a chat with the classroom teacher or the head teacher, just a quick catch up before his first session…. Which is when I found out that his file hadn’t been passed over — it was still in the envelope I had hand delivered it in.

In addition to this, his “new teacher” was actually one of two (a job share). I kid you not.

I was not impressed.

When presented challenges you have two choices: freak the heck out or face them head on and figure out how best to deal with the situation.

I walked the file up to his new classroom and sat down for half an hour with his (Monday to Wednesday) teacher. In fairness, she asked some good questions and as time was short I encouraged her to read the “all about me” overview as this would be the best tool for her to use in the early days of her time with him.

I asked her to set up a home-school diary, she readily agreed to do this stating that it wouldn’t be written in every day, just if there was an incident to report… I’m happy to say that once I clarified that due to his main issue being one of COMMUNICATION I was looking for them to log things which I could then use as tools to facilitate communication at home and encourage him to recount his day i.e. a book they have read, a song they sang etc.

So, whilst not at all happy with the situation, I was at least confident that our boy would walk into an understanding environment.

I spoke too soon

As it happens, this wasn’t the case, the agreed process of the teaching assistant being at the door to meet him simply didn’t pan out. She wasn’t there! Luckily for the school, a fabulous little girl from his nursery (who has been somewhat motherly towards him since they first met) was joining the same class and she very firmly took him by the hand and forcefully led him into their first session. I will be forever grateful to her.

Forces were mobilised.

  • I immediately booked an appointment with the School SENCO
  • I called the SALT to explain the situation and ask her to be mindful of the fact there are two teachers involved in his case
  • I called the area special needs teacher requesting she get into the school PDQ
  • I booked an appointment to see the Thursday-Friday teacher

I’m pleased to report that following that rather dreadful start, the school raised their game. Over the years I developed excellent relationships with the staff and extended network of professionals he came into contact with. It wasn’t easy, it took time and effort and a lot of patience and perseverance but I’m very proud of all we achieved.

A very dear friend advised me to “be a nuisance” as it was one of the only ways to get things done. I don’t agree with this per se and have found that becoming a critical friend is the best way to go.

--

--

Donna Cooper
Autism Matters: The personal journey of an Autism / ASD Mum

Mum of 3. Business Owner / Marketeer in the tech industry. Trustee for a Multi Academy Trust (MAT) with focus on Pastoral Care. Advocate of autism awareness.