Rediscovering Craftsmanship in Challenging Times

How building and fixing improves your mental health

Jonas Nienau
Persons

--

Yesterday was the first day in quarantine, in which a severe feeling of unhappiness crept up inside me. Not a slight “I don’t want to get out of bed” sense, but a “Damn, what if we have to live like this for the next year” depression.

Rather than pushing away the feeling, I leaned into it, went for a solo walk, and thought about all the things for which I am grateful. I am so lucky to be healthy, to not having to worry about putting food on the table, and to still being able to write. I appreciate this to the fullest.

That helped.

While contemplating what other things can help to ease up the nagging feeling caused by isolation, I remembered a passage from Cal Newport’s book Digital Minimalism:

“[A] life well lived requires activities that serve no other purpose than the satisfaction that the activity itself generates.”

He makes a case for active creation as a source of happiness instead of passive consumption. One of these activities is craftsmanship.

I always thought I had “two left hands.” My drawing and painting skills barely got me…

--

--

Jonas Nienau
Persons

Inspiration and education to live a meaningful and joyful life.