Lessons from Nicely

Alyssa Marion
3 min readApr 6, 2015

--

Over spring break this semester, a handful of graduates and undergraduates in the advertising program were fortunate enough to take a trip to New York City and tour some of the coolest ad agencies in the country. The best part? All the agencies had BU alums working for them. Maybe I really can get a job one day!

R/GA was by far my favorite agency. Specifically, there was one individual that I was able to connect with on both a professional and personal level. Cory Nicely, Senior Analyst in R/GA’s Analytics department was gracious enough to take the time to speak with me about her experiences in the industry. After talking with Nicely, there were three main lessons that I took away.

Here they are.

Lesson #1: Strategy vs. Analytics

One big question I’ve had since starting at BU is understanding the difference between Account Planning/Consumer Insight/Strategy/Analytics/every-other-name-given-to-what-seems-like-the-same-department at an agency. At R/GA, there are departments called Insights & Planning and Analytics, so I finally had the opportunity to clear up my confusion.

Even though R/GA is a big agency, it is broken up into five smaller groups, acting as mini agencies within the larger agency. Their strategists and analysts, however, are not necessarily assigned to a specific mini agency.

According to Nicely, strategists provide a strategic thinking for clients. Strategists understand where the client currently lies in their industry, where R/GA thinks the client can get to, and how R/GA can develop digital platforms that can send clients into more future thinking. The Insights & Planning department works very closely with the Media and Analytics departments, but do their own research as well. Analysts, however, deal with the data.

Analysts drive action, finding insights that help improve and optimize creative work. Nicely says she strives to find data that provide a strategic creative advantage to her clients.

Ultimately, “everyone is always involved. The whole assembly line idea of work never happens here,” according to Nicely.

Lesson #2: Want to Change the World

At R/GA, everyone wants to change the world. Nicely is no exception. Her fierce mentality clearly blends well with the culture of the agency, and has driven her from entry-level intern to Senior Analyst in a matter of two years. “I’m always learning at R/GA, and it’s all because there are such smart people here.” In this industry, you must be willing to learn. Teach yourself something you don’t yet know. As a senior analyst, Nicely has to teach herself about new industries all the time. And she loves it.

Wise words to live by? Nicely quotes Ralph Waldo Emerson: “Unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.”

Lesson #3: Travel

When I first connected with Nicely, I knew she had gone through the BU Graduate Advertising program. I did not know, however, she also did the same London Graduate Mass Communication Summer Internship Program that I am doing this summer. Meeting someone that has gone through the same journey abroad that I am about to embark on was such a relief.

Nicely provided me with so many tips and tricks about life in London and places to be sure to visit. For reference- she loves Portobello Market and Borough Market. “Honestly, I forgot being abroad even had classes or an internship. I didn’t think it was the point.” This was the best piece of advice I could have heard from her. The stresses I’ve had preparing for my summer abroad are astronomical, but taking a step back and realizing that of course the point of going abroad is to experience as much culture as possible. I have a completely new mindset for my time abroad.

If you ever want to meet one of the nicest and personable people in the industry, go talk to Cory Nicely, @Cory_Nicely.

--

--