The Beginning

Amogh Chakravarthy
Persuasion and Propaganda
1 min readOct 12, 2017

In late August, I pondered over which political or civil society campaign to study for a university essay. My keen interest in campaigns ensured that I would not study any of the recent, well-known campaigns (Obama 2008, Modi 2014, Kevin 2007, Trump 2016), inclined to analyse a lesser-known or older campaign instead.

Unsure, I took to Facebook, uploading a status and soliciting suggestions from my friends and peers. Suggestions flowed in, endlessly.

Ultimately, I decided on a campaign suggested to me by my lecturer. However, it struck me that a lot of people were quite interested in understanding the factors that made a campaign (un)successful. On the other hand, I enjoyed writing the essay and was certain that I did not want to stop there.

I was considering on starting to blog for quite a while but was in search of a niche. This incident presented me with one. A month and a half after the Facebook post, Persuasion and Propaganda began.

I aim to publish a campaign analysis every fortnight. If you have any recommendations or suggestions, I look forward to receiving them on amogh [dot] chakravarthy [at] outlook [dot] com.

--

--

Amogh Chakravarthy
Persuasion and Propaganda

Personally, professionally and academically consumed by politics.