The Cryptic Mines of Maras

albiera aramayo
Peruvian Legacy
Published in
4 min readNov 20, 2015

The Maras salt mines is an experience that will not let you forget it

It was our second day in the exceptional city of Cusco, which is located in the Peruvian Andes at the altitude of 3,400 meters , and we were on the way to start our expedition to the salt mines.The salt mines are located in a town called Maras at 40 kilometers north of Cuzco, what is done there is astonishing, as the water evaporates the various crystals form at the sides, the keeper later on locks the water feeder, the it’s a process to let the water absolutely dry. To finalize the process the keeper comes and scrapes the salt off. On the way to the salt mines I had absolutely no clue about what we were going to do. After what seemed like hours we were finally were disembarking the buses, but as soon as I got there I was beyond puzzled, the only thing in sight were miles and miles of what looked like filthy ponds surrounded by what were bleached-like rocks.

To be able to enter the salt mines it was only S/. 8.00 , I was startled by the size of the attraction, it looked limitless, in fact the attraction is made up of about 3,000 small ponds each 5 meters squared . We were guided to a set of stairs that took us through a cramped market brimming with artefacts made by the Cuzco community. As I roamed around the market I was astonished with what these people were able to do. About 5 minutes later we came to the end of the market but to the start of a beautiful journey, the salt mines.

We started walking towards the salt mines, but I didn’t see any path, but only a narrow lines of rocks leading up to the maze that is known as the salt mines. Anxious was the word to describe the feeling I was feeling at the bottom of my stomach. I started walking in the dangerous borderline of the salt mines, surrounded by the ponds everywhere. I kept on walking on the borderline, at times getting thinner and I recall how I kept losing my balance, it was so hard to walk that I was balancing myself on my friends arm, I was holding like my life depended on it. There was time point were I was hovering right through open space, literally on the border. I gained an exceptional view of the unbelievable landscape.

Being at 3,385 meters over the sea level the temperature could’ve varied between 1–21 degrees , even though the sun was more luminous than ever, the cotton like clouds lazily moving across the sky, the ponds gave of a look as if they were camouflaged in snow I hurriedly took out my phone in order to take a picture, but in that millisecond I lost my balance, as a natural instinct I place my left foot behind me in order to avoid falling, as I do that my foot lands on one of the ponds that felt like wet sand. The feeling of the unstable surface and the temperate water trespassing my shoes made me realize what I had done. I took my foot out as soon as possible, all type of thoughts were racing through my mind, coming up with the worst scenarios possible, but I decided that I wasn’t gonna let that destroy my experience.

I neglected it and decided to keep walking through the dangerous border line. I started noticing that as we went forward the ponds start decreasing, like the changing colors of an ombré effect. We then arrived to a very steep and dull hill…

With short breath, burning legs, and a thin layer of sweat across my body I realized I had finished walking through the beautiful salt mines.

If you are interested in going to the Maras Salt Mines go visit:

It includes a half day tour to Maras Moray and Salt Mines, giving you the full tour program with prices detailed.

--

--