The Sight of The Sacred

Keita Suzuki
Peruvian Legacy
Published in
3 min readNov 24, 2015

One of the place that you should definitely go, Machu Picchu

It was a long time driving around the mountains, climbing the limping stairs. But I think it was worth it. I got frustrated of being stung by the provoking bug, exhausted of the endless path, but those feeling blew away. It was all because of the mysterious scenery.

My day started from having my alarm ringing in my face. It was a very sunny that day. As I turn of the alarm, I asked my roommates what do we do. When I was told that today, we are going to Machu Picchu, I was imaging of myself feeling sick as we were in the bus. Remaining reluctant, we went down stairs to eat breakfast. After we ate our breakfast, we had to make sure that we haven’t forget anything, and then we left our room. We arrived to the lobby. We rode on the bus that takes us to Machu Picchu. Since Machu Picchu is located 2,430 metres above sea level, it was taking a lot of time to go to the entrance. We saw some awesome view of the mountains. It looked like a gate to go to a sacred place.

When we arrived, I didn’t like to stay there for a long time. The mosquitoes were all over the place. When I stopped my feet for a few seconds, the mosquitoes comes to try to stop at my skin and take a little feast of my blood like a very starved animal. The moment I arrived here, it was the worst and the most dumbest thing to do to come to the swarms of mosquitoes wearing shorts. After we paid the entrance fee, $26, we went to climb the stairs. We were being exhausted of climbing the stairs, especially me because I was trying to not to stop because the moment I stop, I would get the bites of the horrible insects. First, I saw the last part of the stairs. I thought the stairs were over so I was trying to keep my eyes to my knees. But before I moved my eyes, my eyes eventually came facing the front with a big glimpse. It was an astonishing scene. The some of the old bricks was still alive and made us imagine the old times on this high mountain. The mountain behind looks like piecing the sky and acts like the stairs for the spirits of the inca people to climb in order to go to the heaven. No wonder that it is called Inti Watana, Room of the Three Windows and the Temple of the Sun. I was really interesting place to me and I was standing on the opposite side of the mountain starring the old castle. That was my first experience watching the Machu Picchu.

The site is roughly divided into an urban sector and an agricultural sector, and into an upper town and a lower town. The temples are in the upper town, the warehouses in the lower. The guild was talking a lot of interesting parts of Machu Picchu’s town. She said that they had a security at he gate of the town, a hole to protect from attacks, etc. I would like the people who is reading this will or had a same kind of experience!

--

--